Seaglass

Easington Colliery is not a place that you would normally think of as holiday trip destination but we went there not so long ago – and it was great.

Yes it is really a colliery village – or more to the point, an ex-colliery village – and you can park and then walk across the rec , as I am sure it is called,and down a lot of uneven steps to the pebble beach.

My best beloved picked up a lovely little stone which looked liked a smoothed glass pebble which was, say, a pale jade or if you like your colours posh, teal.

Along the beach was a woman looking very intently for something and I wondered if she was a fossil hunter.

Anyway, and there is always an anyway in my stories, I went off to walk along the beach leaving the best beloved sitting on a rock with the dog running between us.

I was looking for more glass pebbles to add to the collection the BB was giving me.

Anyway, imagine my surprise then when I looked back to find both had disappeared.

Now my BB is not a man who these days can gallop of across rocks and up hills and down dales, so I was worried.

I went (galloping) across the rocks looking for both of them and shouting their names – nothing….

Of course, dear reader, I found them – both happily mooching and the BB beckoning me to look at some landslide or another – as you do.

(The dog meanwhile, was suggesting that I had fretted over nothing and she had the situation all under control.)

Together – with me making sure we were all a pack together – we went back to the main beach and the fossil hunting woman was still there, looking intently at the beach and moving very slowly.

It was my BB who asked her what she was hunting and she said, ‘seaglass.’

She was American and had learned to pick up seaglass as a child – her mother had found some and set her children to find more.

(Wise woman who found a way to send her kids off and keep them occupied.)

Seaglass is the rubbed shards of glass from all sorts of bottles and you can look it up on Wikipedia.

Anyway (again,) this nice woman said she had come to this part of the world on an especial seaglass hunt and apparently there was a bottle-making factory up the coast and this was a great beach to find seaglass.

She had a bag full – or at least a plastic food bag half full – of these very same ‘pebbles’ of pale jade.

As we were talking she pointed out several pebbles and, generously, handed them to me.

Now, I am not sure that Easington Colliery was much of a beach destination in its heyday as a colliery – and I wouldn’t have expected to have it part of my holiday, but to find a lovely American woman who had flown across the Atlantic to be there, was indeed a surprise.

img_2829

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

